Tacuarembó, created by the law of 16 June 1837, under the government of General Manuel Oribe, is a department of the Eastern Republic of Uruguay. Its capital is the city of the same name Tacuarembó. Located in the north-central part of the country, bordered on the north-east by Rivera, on the south by the Negro river that separates it from Cerro Largo and Durazno, and on the west by the department of Río Negro, Paysandú and Salto. With 15,438 km², it is the largest department in Uruguay.


San Gregorio de Polanco

Start planning your next trip

We design once-in-a-lifetime trips for those who want to go beyond the typical and experience something truly special. Our team of travel designers and local guides work together to create incredible trips that get under the skin of the place you are visiting.