Río Negro

The department of Río Negro is one of the nineteen Department that make up the Eastern Republic of Uruguay. Its capital is Fray Bentos. Located in the central-western part of the country, bordered to the north by Paysandú, to the east by Tacuarembó, to the south by the river of the same name, which separates it from Durazno and Soriano, and to the west by the Uruguay River, which separates it from Argentina. With a population of nearly 60,000, it is one of the least populated departments in Uruguay.

Start planning your next trip

We design once-in-a-lifetime trips for those who want to go beyond the typical and experience something truly special. Our team of travel designers and local guides work together to create incredible trips that get under the skin of the place you are visiting.