Cerro Largo

Cerro Largo is one of the nineteen departments that make up the Eastern Republic of Uruguay. Its capital is Melo. It is located in the central-eastern part of the country, bordered to the north by the Negro River, which separates it from the Tacuarembó and Rivera departments, to the east by Brazil, to the southeast by the Lago Merín, which separates it again from Brazil, to the south by Treinta y Tres and to the west by Durazno.

With 13,648 km², it is the fourth largest department in Uruguay, behind Tacuarembó, Salto and Paysandú.

Lago Merín


Start planning your next trip

We design once-in-a-lifetime trips for those who want to go beyond the typical and experience something truly special. Our team of travel designers and local guides work together to create incredible trips that get under the skin of the place you are visiting.